Hebrews 12:2

Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Growing up we all had heroes, and people we looked up to. I know as a child I looked up to a number of people including my pastor, my father, Michael Jordan, Brett Favre, and Sammy Sosa. However, as a child I knew Jesus, but was unable to fixate my eye on him. While I knew him and loved him, I could not in the physical sense see him. So in that way it was hard to fix my eyes on Jesus. Unlike Dad, Pastor Noah, Sammy, Michael, or Brett I didn’t physically see the impact these people make. Nonetheless, the life of Jesus surpasses the lives of all of these individuals not matter how great their accomplishments may be. While me may not see a physical for of Jesus, we as believe nonetheless feel his presence. He has changed our lives and we know it was him. For those who don’t believe or haven’t come to Jesus yet once you accept him you will undoubtedly know what I am speaking of. Jesus paid an unspeakable price going to the cross to die for our sins. He deserves our full effort, our full attention, and our full hearts. As children we looked up to a number of people, but as much as they may have inspired us, we need to be moved by Jesus. We need to follow in the footsteps of the one who saved us. While its impossible to live the life Jesus did, we can live in Christ “likeness”, while we may not always behave admirable, we can always try. While its not wrong to have role models, heroes, or ones to look up to, in fact, I still look up to Colin Powell, Michael Jordan, my pastor, father, and many others, we need to set our eyes on the greatest hero of them all, Jesus.

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, please forgive us when we chase what is false and earthly. Let us focus on the true gift and our true hero your son Jesus. We thank you Lord, for sending him for out sins, while we do not deserve this, we are grateful. Let us honor and serve him and let us always have the confidence you will have out backs. In Jesus Name I pray, Amen!

Leave a Reply

