blogpic.jpg.png.jpgIf you’re anything like me then when that time comes where I meet my maker it’s kind of like a clutch moment in a baseball game. I’m standing on second and I am the winning run. A screamer is lined into the right field corner and I am hurling home. I look up to see if I’m cleared to go home and being waved in. I round third and there could be play at the plate. I get low and slide and touch home I’m safe and where we all want to be. The game is over and we have won! I surely hope there is baseball in heaven because it would make it all that more interesting. One of my favorite baseball films is an all time classic Field of Dreams this summer I plan to make the trip to Iowa and visit the location of the film. In the film they depict players of the past coming back and entering the diamond though the miles of corn to play ball. For me baseball is peaceful and there is something about baseball that is second to none. The experience of the game is simply amazing.

Two old men had been best friends for years, and they both live to their early 90’s, when one of them suddenly falls deathly ill. His friend comes to visit him on his deathbed, and they’re reminiscing about their long friendship. The friend says, “Listen, when you die, do me a favor. I want to know if there’s baseball in heaven.”

The dying man responds, “We’ve been friends for a lifetime, so yes, I’ll do this for you.” And then he dies.

A few days later, the surviving friend is sleeping, when he hears his friend’s voice.

“I’ve got some good news and some bad news,” it says. “The good news is: there’s baseball in heaven.”

“What’s the bad news?”

“You’re pitching on Wednesday.”

We all want to score the winning run, just like all want to go to heaven. However, just like we can’t expect to score the winning run without putting in the work, we should not expect to get to heaven if we are not willing to put in the work. I like to think that the team in heaven is the ultimate baseball team. God standing as the Executive which the likes of Theo Epstein, Branch Rickey, and Ed Barrow would only dream of being. Jesus the manager which even at their best John McGraw, Connie Mack, nor Tony LaRussa could not stack up to. The pitching coach being the Spirit as the soothing words and impact of a pitching coach can often shift the shape of the game. I could only picture Peter as the third base coach as he is often pictured giving the go ahead into heaven. Ok, maybe this is a bit frivolous, but the point does not matter how great we see things on earth, in heaven things are an infinite amount better. We will play in the likes of Wrigley Field, Fenway Park, and Camden Yards, but better because we will be in the ultimate cathedral. Where there is an endless amount of hot dogs, beer, lemonade, and cracker jacks. Where there are no unlucky bounces. The score does not matter because we all just are happy to play the game. There is no such thing as a rain delay. Also, there certainly are no Goats, black cats, or other hideous curses. The reality of it all we don’t know what heaven will be like all we know is it will be wonderful.

One thought on “Theology of Baseball and For the Love of the Game pt. 5

  1. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

